• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

1986 M1031 4L80E Swap Question

IdahoJoe

I just bought a 1986 M1031 from Gov liquidation. I'm new to this truck, but I've had quite a few 1973-87 Chevy's in the past and even had a M1009 for a few months.

My truck has the TH400 and NP205 of course but doesn't look like it ever had a PTO or the associated governor on it. Whatever box was on it was removed before it was auctioned and replaced with a 1999-2007 GM truck box, I would guess that box and the box from this truck were swapped.

Anyhow, I have access to a 1992 4wd 4L80E from a 6.5 turbo engine that is totally mechanical (the engine is mechanical, not the trans). That truck uses a DB2 pump just like these and the ECM only controls the trans. I would like to swap in that trans and use that computer to control it. I know I will need the TPS off the 1992 pump and the wiring harness.

My confusion comes in the transmission to transfer case adapters. My research says my TH400 has a 32 spline male output shaft. My adapter will have the round TH400 pattern on the front and the figure 8 pattern on the t-case side. Will the 92 4L80E bolt up? If not, can things be modified to make it bolt up?

Thanks for any help in advance.

2013-03-14 16.54.52.jpg

Last edited:

richingalveston