• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

1996 M1078 - Just purchased and have questions.

Greekpete

Hello all! Thanks for adding me! Just purchased a 1996 M1078 and have some basic questions. I'm totally new to this, so bear with me..
1. When driving, it takes pressing the gas pedal to the floor to get it going and to shift gears. Transmission fluid level seems fine. Is this just how they operate?
2. When accelerating quickly, in 3rd, 4th, and so on gears, it sounds like there's air coming out of the turbo. Normal?
3. This vehicles max speed is like 45-50, sound right?
Thanks,Pete

Attachments

GeneralDisorder

Steel Soldiers Supporter
That's typical of the 90's trucks with the 3116. They don't have a ton of power. You can install high speed gears and get them up to about 65 or so. But acceleration will be (if anything) worse since you have taller gears. These are still light-years ahead of the old M35's, 800 and 900 series trucks though. I have many memories of driving M35A2's over mountain passes at 20 mph.

3126 and C7 trucks fetch more money because the more powerful engines (especially the C7 that can be flash tuned to 370 HP) and they can easily do 65 in stock form at WOT and handle taller gears for best economy really well.

You will definitely hear the turbo when it's on boost.

Green Mountain Boys