• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

24V Fan Installation

Valence

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Starting in May of 2011, I knew I wanted to put my Deuce in the my town's Independence Day parade - I also knew that I tended to get just way too warm in my truck (engine heat and weather contributing) - especially while needing to man handle the manual steering. Tilting out the windshield would help but there'd be little to no air flow when nearly just idling down the road.

Then I cam across Andy1234's ad for 24V fans!

(not meaning to advertise for him, but hey, I think they're good quality fans at a great price from a trusted seller)

I've never done anything like this before so I sat in the truck with the fans and my VIC1 system to try and plan where I wanted to put everything - i.e.: what was feasible, reasonable, and reachable - basically to find the the best solution while still working as I wanted. My brother counseled that I not mount the fans to the hard top because I'd still want to use them even if the hard top was removed.

Finally, I settled on placing the fans in the top corners of the windshield, off the center post. There were already two holes in that center beam, and I decided to make use of them. Even after the installation I don't think it reduces my visibility one bit. I certainly do not find them in the way of seeing what I need to see.