• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

3rd Gear High Or 5th Gear Lo

3rd HI or 5th LO

• 3rd High

Votes: 12 57.1%
  • 5th Low

Votes: 9 42.9%

• Total voters

Josh

I've been wondering for a while and didnt see anything that adressed this issue. When yall are stuck going up a hill in the 20-25mph range, do you guys use 3rd High or 5th lo? If I'm loaded I'm normally in 5th LO, but empty I'll keep it in 3rd high.

What do you guys do, and is there any pros/cons of using one over the other?

jatonka

hey, whatever keeps the RPMs over 1500 works for me. as far as splitting, and I have a lot of years experience splitting 5x4 twin sticks, the only split I make in M35A2 multifuel trucks, is 4th low to 3rd high. In other words, on a hard pull or heavy load, 2nd low, 3rd low, 4th low, 3rd high, 4th high, 5th high. JT out

Jake0147

When you're in the "overlap zone", the truck really doesn't care. If I'm going up through the gears, I usually start in low range, work up to five, then flip the transfer up (and the main to four) for the next upshift. If I'm loosing gears, it usually works out best to leave the transfer in high and backshift the main transmission. Of course if you know what's up ahead, like the hill getting steeper, or cresting the hill, traffic, etc then you can plan ahead and choose whatever range will give the best gear selection, both in terms of available speeds and subsequent shifting requirements.
Again, the truck doesn't care, so the answer is whatever works for you. I find that for me, the gear selection in low range is much more convenient at low speed. and use that frequently for "in town" speeds, whether I ask it (with the throttle) for hill climbing power or not.

wreckerman893

Possum Connoisseur