• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

engine alternatives for the deuce?

Trudge

Sooooo i think i blew up my motor last night ........this seems like a perfect time/exscuse to drop in som emore diesel power.

what can i bolt to that trani?

can i get a cummins out of a five ton in there??

i got no prob fabbing it s what i do for a living

im looking for a diesel and reliable 200+ hp nothing crazy

clinto

Moderator, wonderful human being & practicing Deuc
Staff member
Administrator
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Supporting Vendor
There are a cubic bazillion threads in the Deuce modification & hot rodding section which cover all the various (5.9 Cummins, DT466, etc) engine swaps in great detail (tranny compatibility, weight, length, height, etc.).

mudguppy

i love cummins but ill be giving up over 100 CI going to the 5.9 .........and does it bolt to the trani?
apparently you believe that the stock multifuel was some sort of power house. while a cummins is smaller, the minum 6bta power ratings were still 30hp and 100ft-lbs higher than the multi' on a good day.

an SAE engine adapter can be used to mate the Cummins to the spicer.

wreckerman893

Possum Connoisseur
Ref putting a 250 Cummins out of a 5 ton into a deuce the short answer is no....for several reasons.....weight (too heavy),
lenght (too long) and highth.
The 250 is very heavy for the amount of power it produces and you would also have to use the 250 bell housing and transmission'
more weight and lenght.
Check out wrecking yards and get a Cummins out of a Dodge pickup.....best option for the money IMHO.

Reactions: rtk

mudguppy