• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

First post and looking at an M1009

OldScout

Hi all,

First post to the forum, and looking at purchasing my first M1009. I was a cav scout back when they were first put into service, but never had a chance to drive around in one. Did get a chance to drive 113's, Bradley's, the old jeeps, and a few other mil vehicles.

The vehicle is about 4 hours away from me, but I have talked to the current owner on the phone and it seems like the cucv is in great shape, no rust, newly painted, new top, 4" lift with HMMWV tires on it.

Just wanted to see if I could get any advise on what to look for as I am looking it over, and driving it. I'm not a diesel mechanic by any means, but not bad with a wrench and have a good understanding of auto mechanics, especially the older kind with no microchips under the hood!

Thanks for any advice, and I look forward to learning from the forum.

Thanks,

OldScout (Tim)

iacucv