• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Flasher Relay Questions

SierraHotel

Being that I am a lowly roofing consultant, and not an electrical engineer (and that I want to quit buying flasher units!), I’ve got some questions/clarifications for Bjorn’s relay modification. I’m sure his sketch is simple and straightforward for someone that has a clue, unfortunately it would appear I do not. I’d rather not buy yet another flasher because I misinterpreted it.

1. Is my sketch correct for the hookup of the relay? Are the A & C wires hooked up to the X1 & X2 posts or the A1 & A2 posts.
2. The relay I bought came with a diode (black with a light blue stripe) between X1 and X2, is this adequate or does the diode need to connect wires A and C after the relay?
3. Can the relay be used for other things such as the headlights and convoy lights concurrently, or is it just one relay for one item.

Enquiring (and frustrated) minds want to know…thanks Bjorn!

Attachments

cranetruck

Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
You got it right. Make sure that the diode has its band ("light blue stripe") facing the X1 terminal.

One relay per application, this one is energized only when the flasher module is "on".

BTW, nice drawing.

dabtl

Flashers are subject to rapid failure from electrical surges. The new flashers especially. Bjorn has designed a protective circuit that eliminates the failures from that cause. I put one on my M35 that had blown two flashers rapidly. No more problems.

Blacksmoke

Is there a link to the original write-up with the specs of the parts? Just replaced my flasher with a brand new one & would rather not have it fried.

cranetruck

Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter