• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Operation: Ethel. Kendelrios M37 (re)build thread

kendelrio

Steel Soldiers Supporter
OK all-
Im offshore and couldn't get pics, so my sweet lady went today (after working a 16 hour shift! 😳), cleared weeds away and took pics for me.
If you happen to see something cool/rare or interesting that jumps out at you, feel free to point it out. I am a TOTAL NOOB with this truck and have no idea what I have.

Also, any potential trouble spots please point out.

So... this will start my rebuild of my 1952 M37 "Ethel".
received_597675131333581.jpeg

When I say covered in weeds....
received_1559005354455650.jpeg

But, here she is in all her glory....
Bed.jpeg

received_605877303889505.jpeg

received_613518903058135.jpeg

received_440299397796296.jpeg

received_644781440173021.jpeg

received_684274392946649.jpeg

received_468936627934692.jpeg

received_419619989857069.jpeg

More to come.

Last edited:

NDT

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Truck was restored to include sandblast and paint at some point, then they left it in the weather for 20 years. Sad. Got some cowl rust, fixable. See the off center device behind the front grille? That is the selenium rectifier, part of the 100 amp charging system, which was installed on radio trucks. Looks like there are a few more trucks there as well. Plan on a complete fuel system rebuild, brake system rebuild. Engine should come to life as long as the valves are not stuck. Star on the hood is painted backwards. I like it and would have considered buying it if it had been offered to me.

kendelrio

Steel Soldiers Supporter