• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Leaking Transfer Case - Best Kits for Repair

Si I've put enough miles on now on my recently acquired '84 M1008 to see that I have a nasty transfer case oil leak between the transmission and the transfer case, leaking gear oil down the along the frame crossmember supporting the transfer case.

I did a quick search here but didn't see anything recent for suggested kits/parts to address the oil leak at the front of transfer case.

What all is involved to repair the leak? Seal(s) for transmission output shaft into transfer case? Bearing(s) to replace?

Should I replace u-joints at the same time?

I'm a complete newb on transfer cases, never had to work on one till now!

Thanks in advance for any suggestions or recommendations.

cucvrus

If you are leaking gear oil out of the transfer case. You have serious issues. The transfer case and transmission have ATF in them. Or they are supposed to have ATF in them. Also the rear of the transmission has a seal in it to prevent the ATF from leaking back from the transmission into the transfer case. I would suggest you have the transfer case and transmission resealed. That means removed split and all new seals put in both of them. That is my opinion on this. But I do know as a fact that ATF is supposed to be in all the transfer cases. This is a bit of advise. I fix everything the right way the first time. It cost a bit more up front but out lasts a poor job by a long shot. Have a great day.

The FLU farm

Steel Soldiers Supporter