• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M105A2 gets a 2.5" lift

tcruwithme

Earlier this year, I put 395/85R20 XZL tires on my M105 with recentered HEMTT wheels done by Stazworks in Wisconsin. I did this so that I would have two spares for my M35A2, and so that the trailer sat more level with the truck - now that the truck has those same wheels & tires on it.

So, today I put a 2.5" lift on the trailer to get more clearance with the 46" tires. Everything worked out great, so I thought I should share my story and a few pictures. First off, I didn't see any other threads for people that have already done this. I am not an engineer, machinist, or mechanic - so I was trying to use common sense. Here's what I did ...

I measured the existing u-bolts and the diameter of the axle. Then, I made this fancy schematic.

20150722_074437[1].jpg

I should have been more clear in that the measurements should have indicated from center of hole to center of hole. I brought this to my local machine shop to have them drill and round the edges of a block of aluminum 2.5" thick by 5" wide by 7" long. I wish I knew someone with a drill press and belt sander - that would have saved me a couple of dollars. I also wish that I took the springs and u-bolts apart before I had those blocks machined ...

20150807_143021[1].jpg

The holes in the center were done after the fact. They needed a 1.25" diameter hole drilled 0.25" deep into the block. Then, there needed to be a 9/16" hole drilled in the center of that down another 0.5" (0.75" down from the surface). That way, the bolt on the bottom of the spring would sit in this depression. Here's how everything looked before the lift:

20150807_143000[1].jpg 20150807_143009[1].jpg