• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M1102 Hand Brakes

cucvrus

I am new at modern military trailers and learning about the handbrake system. I have 3 of the M1102 trailers and each one has a unique issue with the handbrakes. Most problem I feel are due to lack of maintenance and someone used a vise grips in an attempt to adjust or tighten them. I have a few old trailer chassis that have the same type of brake levers. Are the M1102 brake levers anything special or do the old M101 trailers have the same levers. I do not have both beside each other for a comparison so I am asking before I tear into it. And if someone needed new levers where would they purchase the brake levers? Thank you in advance. I am correct in assuming the brake adjustment is achieved by turning the outer most knob on the brake lever?

juanprado

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Correct, if the system is working properly, twisting the knob will tighten or loosen the cable as the parking brakes are manually set assuming all the components are working properly. They need to be lubed well and often neglected. Older ones used to have a zerk fitting.

I do not think the handles are the same for the m101 and m1101.

Guyfang

Staff member
No. They are not the same. Two different NSN's, two different part numbers. Below listed firm provided the levers to the US gov for the M1101. They also provided the levers for the M101 trailers.

ORSCHELN PRODUCTS L.L.C.

cucvrus