• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M146 trailer recovery and restore/RV conversion

tommys2patrick

Newbie here to steel soldiers. I have a M275 tractor and just acquired a M 146 trailer. It is being brought in on a removable goose neck trailer. I discovered that my air over oil brake booster needs rebuilt I think. I rebuilt the main brake booster and was able to get the tractor brakes working by opening the valve from the air tanks. No main air to send around the truck but at least the tractor hydro brakes work. I need a tractor to unload the M146 off the RGN. I was going to use my M275 until i found out about my air problem.

After all that here is my question.

Can i off load my M146 without an air hook up or electric?

I want to think I will need some air to unlock the brakes. I was thinking that if i used a simple air tank and ran a glad hand line to the service brake glad hand on the trailer i would be able to pull the trailer off the RGN. I don't want to run on the road like that I just want to get it off the shippers trailer and park it in my lot.

1) will that work do you think?
2) if it might work what sort of pressure do you think I should have in the static tank to release the brakes?
3) can i leave the gladhand off the emergency brake on the trailer or will I need to plug it to prevent pressure loss?

Thanks for listening to my rambling questions. if anyone wants to throw in two cents that would be great.

Pat in Denver ps--pictures coming as soon as I can figure out how to post.

tommys2patrick

I have been reading few other threads about the M146 and they seem to say that the trailer has no parking brake and will with a fifth wheel under it and no air connection.

Can anyone confirm this is the case please?