• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M936 Boom Safety - No Check Valves?

Mullaney

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Supporting Vendor
Safety First - So I don't kill myself or somebody else...

I am new to the M936, but reading the TM seems like the right thing to do. TM 9-2320-272-10 (Pages 2-136 to 2-140) show and explain the use of Shipper Braces that provide boom stability on the road. The TM also explains those other two arms for the boom (called Boom Jacks) that attach to boom then sit on the ground for heavy lifting.

In a "past life" I worked for a company called RH Bouligny. They were a steel high-line contractor (now defunct) that used primarily WWII era IHC's, Deuces, 5-Tons, Dodge Weapons Carriers and M4's. All were heavily modified for working where nobody else wanted to go. In the swamps and in the Virginia hills. I loved that job. Anyway, as the years went by I went from being a wrench turner to a hydraulic mechanic.

Earlier today, I raised the boom on my M936. Max up with Max extension on the Crowd Boom. The great news is that there was no "popping" sound as it sat there. No obvious leaks - although I can't imagine why because the deck is pretty nasty. The boom sat like that for about 4 hours. I was preparing to stow the boom and decided to climb up and press the far left lever (boom control) forward to verify that the check valves were functioning correctly. It should not have moved - but it did. This boom does not appear to have check-valves?

Everything we used had "CHECK VALVES" in the lines where a boom was in the air. Where a catastrophic hydraulic line failure would cause the boom to come crashing to the ground. Again, this truck does not appear to have that safety feature. Is that normal?