• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M939 series 5 ton capacities

theboom

Hello all. I am new to this military truck game and I have a few questions about the 939 series 5 tons. I have briefly searched this forum for these answers but I could not find any clear cut numbers. I was wondering about their hauling capacities and towing capacities with both the cargo and tractor variants. Now we all know in actuality, they can move a whole lot more than they are rated for but for legal purposes I am just talking about the on paper ratings. Its common knowledge with these 5 tons that they can haul 10,000lbs off road and 20,000lbs on road in the bed, but what is the pintle and 5th wheel towing for both the cargo version and the tractor version for both on and off road? Is this also with the 10-20,000 (on/off road respectively) in the bed or are their tow ratings with nothing in the bed? What is their GVWR, GCWR, and GAWR? I am mainly interested in the ones with the big super single tires which I believe is the A1's and A2's (don't know the difference between the A1 and the A2 versions)? Don't know for sure on that though so I may need correcting.

I know it's is a lot of questions but I like to be informed.:beer:

Last edited:

sandcobra164