• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Mep-016C No Output

6x6TRex

Hey everyone! I got my Mep-016C together last night and am getting no output from it. Anyone know how to test the VR? I have the TMs but got confused on how to test it. :confused:

Engine runs great, just a little smoke at startup/shutdown.

Attachments

mikev

Steel Soldiers Supporter
I'm not a genset expert, but that commutator in the third photo looked corroded over. Did you clean it to a shiny finish before reassembling?

Also, search "flashing a generator"...

Our resident gensets experts will probably reply with better info.

6x6TRex

I will try flashing it tomorrow. There is no corrosion on the commutator, just a little on the impeller, but there is a red coating/paint on it.

I just got done running it again, took some videos but they didnt turn out good, will take some more tomorrow.

The hertz gauge currently reads ~56 hertz and no voltage. If I push on the throttle, rev it as high as it will go, and adjust the voltage to max I get ~58 hertz and ~50 volts.

Attachments

PeterD

...There is no corrosion on the commutator, just a little on the impeller, but there is a red coating/paint on it...
Read coating/paint? On the commutator? That thing has to be shiny copper to work, that red stuff will insulate it and you won't get any output! :wink:

mikev

Steel Soldiers Supporter
So instead of looking like the first picture, it should look like the second?
Yep and in that second picture you need more work on shining up that commutator. Read: bright and shiny copper...

EDIT: If that second pic is your MEP...???

quickfarms

Could the red paint be a anti corrosion protection for storage?

Is there any way to test the conductivity of the red coating?