• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

MEP-804A - intermittent cranking, no starting

Ray W

Hello everyone, newbie here.

Thanks up front for all of the manuals and information I have already read. Great site and has helped me immensely!

So I'm on my second MEP-804A. Very nice units.

Like most, I bought this unit at a GOV sale that stated it was "cranking" but not starting.

The unit: MEP-804A(2012 reset), 3 hours on meter, two new batteries with good connections, fresh diesel fuel added, very clean unit.

The issue: Unit will only intermittently crank, so I cant consistently get to solving the issue of it not starting. It seems to follow no pattern of when it will crank over or not. Pretty frustrating. I'll tackle the issue of it not starting one I solve issue one; as they may be related.

Actions by me to attempt a start:
Dead crank switch in "Normal" position
Master switch to preheat - about 20 seconds(cold here)
Master switch to prime & run Aux fuel(causes ticking from the aux fuel pump) - continue on to the "start" position
Master switch to Start position - unit will sometimes crank over, while other times only cause a single "tick" sound. (rarely cranks over, mostly the tick sound)

Note: I have checked every connection I can see. All seem secure and non-corroded.
Dead Crank switch is in the "Normal" position
Emergency stop switch pulled out and checks good.
Unit will crank over strong via the dead crank switch, so this isn't a weak battery issue.
Fuses all check good.
No Fault indicators noted.
DC Control Power breaker in.

Question: Would the MPU signal an error even if the unit is not cranking over? I haven't pulled it yet because I didn't think it would cause the unit not to crank over. Thoughts?