• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Need M1083 mechanic in Middle TN Area NASHVILLE? MURFREESBORO?

TNTV

Hello all. I am new here and to Military vehicles in general. I purchased my first of hopefully many to come stewart and stevenson m1083 FMTV. I had a issue bringing it home. I put new batteries in it at fort cambel army base in clarksville tn. drove about a hour to nashville and it died on I24. Apparently we didn't tighten one of the battery post and it came off and maybe shorted something out. Idk really...... would love to have someone local or in murfreesboro tn area i could refer too. As i am not a mechanic and intend to continue purchasing these in the future. Just won a humvee last week! can't wait to pick it up!

m16ty

Steel Soldiers Supporter
I'm in Dickson, TN but know little to nothing on a FMTV electrical system.

TNTV

Bump. Hey all, i travel for a living and haven't been home in a while, so i never got a chance to mess with my truck at all. Well I'm back home now and will be for a while and am super excited about getting it running for the summer. Can any one help with my no starting issue? Hopefully someone local could come by...... paid of course!

TNTV

Yes sir. It will spin but never fire. Ran fine and started perfect then just suddenly died on interstate. When i looked one of the battery cables was loose and jumped off, i replaced it to the battery and it never started again.......

"Not start at all" define that please. Does engine spin but not fire? Does engine not spin at all?

TNTV

It is a 1998, I’ll have to double check the engine when I get home, (sons basket ball game)

And it just died, no sputtering,
Just quit running and coasted to a stop.

Last edited:

snowtrac nome