• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

New to me M936 drive/transmission issues

Mario

I think my torque converter is locked up, but since I'm new to HD trucks, I need help to verify I'm on the correct path.
Recently purchased a truck that sat for years. It was a runner last time it was used.
When shifted into forward gear, the truck stalls.
Dropped valve body -- found 1 valve stuck. Addressed that. New filters and gasket along with 5 Gal of 10W, but no change.

Removed rear driveline.
Now I can shift into drive. The truck almost dies from strain, but once it warms up, it says running. Also stays running cold if I increase RPMs by about 100. The output shaft on TC spins, so I can conclude that my TC is not locked up, and my tranny is working.
Applying hand brake ends up stalling the engine.
Also, the transmission and TC PTOs operate without issues.

Am I correct in ASSuming that at idle the torque convertor should not be locked up, and applying the hand brake should not cause the engine to strain and die?

I've tried to 'exercise the torque convertor by applying and releasing the hand brake, hoping to loosen the stalled TQ, but so far, no luck.

If my train of thought is on the correct path, what would You try next?
I'm in New Mexico, and the only shop in town wants me to just replace the MT654CR at a cost of 4 grand -- a hard pill to swallow.

Thank you for any thoughts and/or ideas.

simp5782

Feo, Fuerte y Formal
Supporting Vendor
I've got a few good takeouts or spend 2500 and put a 10spd in it.

Torque converter should unlock between 2 and 3rd gear when driving

This problem you are having is common

SpookyMulder

If my train of thought is on the correct path, what would You try next?