• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

New to the M105... a few questions.

Kingsly

Hey all, after lurking around here for a few weeks I just picked up my first MV. It's a '68 M105A2. Complete with a bullet hole. ;)

I'm moving from L.A. up to Portland, so I got it with the intent of using it to haul my stuff up there, and for business once I'm settled (to be followed shortly by a deuce. I'm a filmmaker and assuming business is booming one will haul equipment while the other hauls a massive generator :D ).

I have a few questions however...

My tow vehicle is a '98 Land Rover Discovery. Max tow capacity is 5200lbs (7200 low range) with I think about a 400lb tongue weight. As things stand there's about a 6" difference between the hook and lunette. I know I'm due for new suspension (judging by how much the rear sagged when hooked up!) so she'll be getting a 2-3" lift with heavy duty springs. I'll also be adding a surge brake actuator to the trailer which should lower the lunette about 4". All in all my math says it'll sit about level... I hope!

I am a little concerned about how tall the trailer stands and her empty weight. Somewhere out on the internets I read the axle/wheel assembly alone accounted for almost 1200lbs. Is this true? I've been considering swapping in a more sensible axle - something from an F350 or the like - that I know will weigh less. Also finding tires would be easier while on a trip. Jut a thought I'm toying around with.

Secondly, I'm looking at these brakes. Looks like air over hydraulic. Am I right in assuming I can undo the flexible brake line from the rear of the air/hyd master cylinder and run a new line from there to the surge actuator's M/C?