• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Possible solution for dreaded engine stall when brakes are locked up.

mdainsd

I've been reading as much as I can find on the fatal (literally) fault of the M939 series. This of course being the issue that an over-zealous application of the brakes stalls the engine and in doing so kills the power steering resulting in skids, crashes and roll-overs.

I work in the field of high pressure connectors, systems etc for offshore oil production.

Here is what I am thinking of: Much like the air brake system which has storage tanks to supply several stops without engine power, the addition of a hydraulic accumulator would serve the same purpose for the power steering.

How do I propose doing this? First measure operating pressure. I'd guess than no more than 3000psi which is low pressure in my world. A pressure gauge Tee'd into the system will tell this. Next measure volume of power steering fluid required for one lock to lock cycle. Then decide how many lock to lock cycles I want to support. Size the accumulator accordingly. A check valve needs to be added at the pump out put. then a Tee to tie the accumulator into the high pressure line. The remaining task is increasing the PS pump reservoir to add enough capacity to charge the accumulator.

I see no reason why this wont work.

simp5782

Feo, Fuerte y Formal
Supporting Vendor
I've been reading as much as I can find on the fatal (literally) fault of the M939 series. This of course being the issue that an over-zealous application of the brakes stalls the engine and in doing so kills the power steering resulting in skids, crashes and roll-overs.

I work in the field of high pressure connectors, systems etc for offshore oil production.