• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Questions about the M116 trailer

forest522

Good day,

I just picked up a very basic M116 trailer with a steel deck. The pintle has been removed and replaced with a two inch standard ball hitch assembly and the whole thing was painted some green color. Most of the paint came off with a good pressure washing. The rest of the unit looks to be complete.

IMG-20130503-00065.jpgIMG-20130503-00064.jpg
I am new to the world of trailers and have browsed much of this forum for intel. But I'd like to confirm a few things.

1. The M116 is a 3/4 frame trailer, used in a variety of ways, some of which change the designation depending on what was put on it. Eg, 101 or 105.

2. The original m116, has no brakes other than the hand brakes...correct?

3. Though not optimal for towing by an M1009, I plan on light loads such as a camping gear trailer set up and the very occasional yard of mulch or gravel. Based upon my reading in this forum, that seems to be acceptable. Correct?

4. Continuing that thought, as long as I stay 'light' - I define that as about 2000 lbs - I should be fine.

5. I would like a spare tire for this unit. Are they difficult to find?

That is the start of my thoughts, anyone have anything to add? Your comments and advice are appreciated! Thanks, Forest522

3dAngus

Most have surge brakes. They probably removed it when they did the cutting on the pintle.
If you haul gravel and such, don't try to use the tilt feature as it is not designed to dump with a load. You might crack the undercarriage or rear lights.