• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Search primer

nk14zp

On the left click advanced search.
Now type in your key word.
Now select what forum to search.
Hit search now.
Hope this helps people find what they are looking for easier.

rchalmers3

Half a mile from the Broad River
Steel Soldiers Supporter
I didn't know I needed to apply primer before searching.

Seriously, I've been hacking away at using the search function for a few years now. Compared to Googling the web, the search results on this forum do not come anywhere close.

Is it because the thread titles do not correspond with the content?

Rick

Warthog

Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
If you like google, you can use it to search this site.

Lets say I want to look for "isolated ground" that everyone talks about in the CUCV forum.

I go to google and type in:

isolated ground site:steelsoldiers.com

Just make sure you add the "site:steelsoldiers.com" to your search.

Google spends millions of dollors perfecting thier search engine.

The software package that this site uses for searchs does not spend that kind of money and if they did then SS wouldn't be able to afford the "new and improved" software.

Yes the SS search feature is limited, but is what we got.

And yes it helps when the user inputs a meaningful title.......:rant:

Last edited:

rchalmers3

Half a mile from the Broad River
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Warthog,

Thanks for the tip. I did not know about directing Google to search a specific site. I hope I can remember this tip when I need it!

I'd click on the "give Thanks" icon but it has gone missing for the past hour.....

clinto

Moderator, wonderful human being & practicing Deuc
Staff member
Administrator
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter