• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Transfer panel read

bones1

I just came across this post as I was trying to educate myself and wondered what you guys thought about it.About a transfer panel he purchased.

I ORDERED ONE OF THESE FROM MY LOCAL ELECTRICAL SUPPLY HOUSE AND PAID JUST A FEW DOLLARS MORE. IT CAME TODAY AND I JUST OPENED THE BOX TO EXAMINE IT. THOUGH WELL MADE I AM SKEPTICAL OF THE UTILITY/GENERATOR BREAKERS ARE LINKED. I PLAN TO EXERCISE CAUTION WHEN SWITCHING BETWEEN THE TWO. I AM A MASTER ELECTRICIAN FOR 20 YEARS AND HAVE INSTALLED MANY COMMERCIAL STANDBY GENERATORS. HERE ARE A FEW THINGS YOU SHOULD CONSIDER ABOUT THIS PRODUCT:
#1. THIS "TRANSFER PANEL" HAS NO MEANS OF DISCONNECTING THE UTILITY NEUTRAL CONDUCTOR AND SWITCHING TO THE GENERATOR NEUTRAL. THIS MEANS THAT WHILE THE GENERATOR IS RUNNING ANY IMBALANCE OF LOAD CAN TRAVEL UP THE POWER CO. NEUTRAL BACK THROUGH THE TRANSFORMER AND POSSIBLY ENERGIZE LINE THAT THE POWER CO. BELIEVES TO BE DEAD. YOUR POWER CO. AND LOCAL BUILDING AUTHORITY MAY REQUIRE THE NEUTRAL TO BREAK UPON ACTIVATION OF GENERATOR SET. LINEMEN HAVE BEEN INJURED AND KILLED BY PEOPLE IMPROPERLY WIRING GENERATOR SETS TO THEIR HOMES.
#2. BECAUSE THE UTILITY AND GENERATOR NEUTRALS ARE NOT ISOLATED THERE IS ALSO A CHANCE STRAY VOLTAGE WILL TRAVEL BACK TO THE GENERATOR WHILE YOUR HOUSE IS RUNNING ON UTILITY POWER.