• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Transmission swap ideas

Veesandskis

So I’m just sitting here thinking about different trans swap ideas for the Deuce. This is not necessarily a pressing matter. Just thinking about if I ever had to put a trans in mine. Anybody ever put a 6 speed Eaton in? I know the ten speeds and such won’t fit but I was a heavy diesel tech and seen a lot of the 6 speeds in medium duty trucks and they’re not really that big. Just curious what you guys have done or thought about. In the case I ever swapped transmissions, I’m not looking for freeway speeds, just lower rpms at highway speeds like 55.

cattlerepairman

Steel Soldiers Supporter
I know this has been discussed many times before. The situation is that the Spicer is really short and so is the jackshaft between it and the transfer case. There is no room for an even slightly longer transmission because of the already short jackshaft. So, you are into "move transfer case rearwards" territory. That means new, shorter drive shaft. New jackshaft. Accommodate new, longer front driveshaft. Need new, longer winch driveshaft (or go hydraulic). Different pinion angles. Parking brake relocation. Crossmembers moving. You see where this goes.
Can it be done? Sure.

Last edited:

Veesandskis