• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

What am I am Missing?

tklm539

To start, I am new to this. I am switching from duals to singles.
I got the wheels off no problem.
Drive shafts removed, very smooth.
Outer nut,lock washer, inner nut, outer seal, outer bearing all out without a hitch. Now I am cooking.

Next pull the drum. HOUSTON, WE HAVE A PROBLEM!

Is there a trick that I am missing? I have been pulling from side to side and have it about 1/4-1/2 of an inch. I was not sure if there is a better way.

Any help would be great.

Tom

Recovry4x4

LLM/Member 785
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Does it feel like it's dragging on the brake shoes? If this is the case you need to back off the brake adjustment bit. There are 2 11/16" bolts near the top of the backing plate. They need to be rotated top towrds axle housing to loosen.

tklm539

It does not sound like its draging, but it is tough to turn by hand.

I am guessing that it should just slide off? I will try the brake in the morning.

Thanks a lot

Tom

acetomatoco

Before you do that... spend the night with the manuals and in the morning you will be ever so bright...The hubs have to come off straight and brake drums usually have a little lip from wear that the shoes sit in and by golly they hang up.... even on the little Jeep stuff...Hopefully you have all new inner and outer seals and the little cork dinguses to put back in

tklm539

I put on m35 rims (stock) with Goodyear G286 11.00x20 tires. I took it out for a ride last night. There is a very noticeable difference (for the better) in handling (if that term can be used with a deuce) and acceleration. Much less vibration as well.

tklm539