• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Will a Motorola MT1000 Communicate with the RT-524?

RJTM998

Be kind I am I am still learning this radio thing. LOL

I am looking for a handheld radio that will communicate with my RT-524. After searching here and other sources I think a Motorola MT1000 I found on eBay programmed with ( 42-50Mhz Split) should work. Is this correct?

If not what will work and do you guys recommend? Thanks!!

SCSG-G4

PSVB 3003
Steel Soldiers Supporter
6 meters is the only amateur frequency available on the RT-524, that is, from 50 to 54 Mhz. And there may be local restrictions. Most of the frequencies that I've seen posted by HAM's run around 51 Mhz.

papakb

Frequency alone isn't the issue unless you want to operate the 524 in open squelch mode. And no one likes to do this unless they absolutely have to. If the MT1000 has a 150hz tone squelch then it will work, otherwise your SOL. Unfortunately I think the 1000 only has 151 and 156 sidetones. Why not just use a PRC-68 or a PRC-126/8? Something else you need to consider is the FCC wants you to be a licensed amateur operator to transmit on 6 meters. The Technician License is fairly easy to get with a few evenings of study and a no code test.

Last edited:

D6T

I’ll try to keep this as brief as possible.

I have firsthand experience with this exact situation.

Quick answer: In this application, the MT1000 is best suited for experimenting only. It will work, some of the time, at very close distances. It should never be relied upon for two way communications with any military transceivers at all.

I’m a lifelong radio nerd and hold a General class amateur license. I’ll keep the terminology simple.