• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

1986 M998 Starter Issues

Crig

Hello y’all, I just got my first humvee about 3 weeks ago so I’m quite new to all of this.
Last week I installed a keyed ignition not knowing they’re notorious for butchering the starter and unfortunately for me, it did exactly that.
With the keyed ignition installed, the starter wouldn’t disengage from the flywheel until I put it in drive or reverse and that was the first issue I had with it. I then read online that the keyed ignition is junk so I removed it and put the original ignition switch in. My current issue now is that the truck doesn’t start as it normally should. When I flip the switch to the run position, I hear no clunk and the glow plug wait light doesn’t turn on and when it’s flipped to the start position the glow plug wait light pops on for half a second and the truck starts up immediately with the starter and flywheel grinding together still. When I release the switch, the truck shuts off. So basically It only runs if I hold the switch in the start position and the starter and flywheel grind against each other.
When I crawled underneath to remove the starter to take assess any potential damages, I discovered that I have only 1 bolt holding it into place and am missing the other bolt and the nut that secures it to the bracket. I spoke to someone who believes that is the reason why my starter and flywheel is grinding together and while that seems plausible, everything was working fine for almost a month until I put that forsaken keyed ignition in.