• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

a new idea for a 12 volt system

JmanX

hey every one, FNG here just thought id say hi and throw an idea out there. iv been wanting a deuce for a while now but im still reading all the old threads first.
im a mechanic with an oil field service company who has a navy back ground. on a lot of our units we run 24 and 12 volt systems using an inverter. im not much of an electrican but while trouble shooting a problem on a frac pump the vioces in my head an i were wondering if anyone has tryed leaving the truck wired in "series" for 24 volt and also runing a sepreate fuse block wired in "parallel" for 12 volt. in theroy that should drain the batterys evenly. anyway just a thought. if you have tryed it or know if it would work, hit me back.

thanks jessie :jumpin::confused::jumpin:

ps sorry for the spelling the navy never tought us that :wink:

Kohburn

can't do it without isolating grounds at the very least so i don't think it's possible at all

my plan is to switch to 12v as my main power and use a charge controller to charge the 24v batteries for the stock system.

mudguppy

i'm drawing it out and staring at it trying to figure out where you'd need diodes...

i'm not sure how to do it and the batteries be charged equally. i keep coming up w/ diodes that will block the back feed but not allow both to charge under a 24V circuit.

i'm looking at this wrong...

supermechanic

I have a 12volt tap at the battery jumper, runs defrost fan.
I switch the batteries one for the other occasionally, this helps to keep things even.
Not an elegant fix, but it works.

mudguppy

i was planning on running a second alternator and running a 12 volt sub-system - it would be fairly easy and add a 3rd battery.