• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

A Newbie's First CUCV

Zimnij Volk

Well, this is my first time on this forum, I guess that makes me a newbie. This place is definitely looking to be what I've been looking for all this time. I figure I should get to it though...

I'm hoping to get either an M1008 or M1028. I'm a sucker for the old Chevy look and love military vehicles, so you can imagine how thrilled I was when I found out they were also build up a bit more than the normal civi trucks. All the better for me I think. The biggest thing for me is that I would like it to be my daily driver, so if you guys would, (I know you must hear the same thing over and over) I have some questions...

First off, the 6.2. I hear mixed things on it, most of the time they're extremes. I hear it's very reliable from some, and from other's it's a piece of crap. If there are ways, can I make it more reliable? What kind of maintenance are we talking about?

I also heard about a way to get these pickups to be faster by the use of a bigger tire, but I really don't want to sacrifice the mileage if I can, it's one of the things I found alluring about the 6.2. What kind of tires do you guys put on?

Are there any certain years I should be on the lookout for, or avoid?

Anything else I should know? Past experiences, etc? I appreciate all input, this is my first one after all.

Thanks to all!

Warthog

Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Welcome to SteelSoldiers.

Make sure you visit the CUCV FAQ Article (CUCV Wiki) that is at the top of the page on the CUCV Forum. All of the CUCV Technical Manuals are listed and many other helpful bits of information. Download the manuals for reference. Also the wiring diagrams are in the appendix.