• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

A simple question...

k72516

Okay, I feel a bit dumb asking this question... but I'm not a diesel mechanic or much of a mechanic at all...but my friend is. (hehehe free labor! lol) I have two questions here. And these are the only two things that really keep me from running out and buying a deuce. (besides my dad murdering me lol)

I don't get why the engines go by hours. I know boats go by hours, and after a certain amount you have to rebuild, but why would you do that with a deuce? It's just a regular diesel engine and from what I gather if you maintain them properly they go well past 200K miles. What's the deal with that?

And second is, if tires are about $2,500.00 for those NDTs, and they stink at handling, why doesn't anyone just go out and buy new wheels and tires? There are plenty of radial/industrial/agricultural wheels and tires that I'm sure you could make fit somehow.

Am I just going in a completely wrong direction here? It seems too obvious to me...which prolly means it won't work, but what the heck why not ask.

red devils dude

ok let's start with hours, hours are a better way to keep up with engine wear there are many reasons for this.
next NDT tires are fine for all most any thing, you said $2,500.00 for them Y?
and last never be afraid to ask a question.

Jim145

This is just a guess, but I would imagine that this would be the same thing: