• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

adapting mrap rims

dstang97

has anyone cut out the centers of a stock deuce rim and welded them to the inside of a MRAP ? looks like it might work perfect.... Im not looking to spend $900+ on adapters

Kohburn

i've seen pictures of what you describe so i know it had been done and can be done. its just more labor - and unless you have free cheap labor... time is money.

3dAngus

Adapters are $500 shipped from CCEquipment. Who charges $900?
That IS a very labor intensive process, but if you do it yourself, you can save.
Some people have noted they don't wish to do this for safety reasons.
I'm no expert on these kinds of things and don't pretend to understand it.
Good luck, whatever you decide.

eagle4g63

It is a lot easier if you find some deuce rims with riveted on centers.......you can easily remove the rivets and have a nice perfect center to work with.............there is some talk about the legalities of rim re-welding..........some say DOT says it is a BIG NO NO!!!

dstang97

Adapters are $500 shipped from CCEquipment. Who charges $900?
That IS a very labor intensive process, but if you do it yourself, you can save.
Some people have noted they don't wish to do this for safety reasons.
I'm no expert on these kinds of things and don't pretend to understand it.
Good luck, whatever you decide.
Your buddy peashooter sells them for $150.

150x6=900
+ bolts
+ shipping.

dstang97

I would ideally put an original rim on a Cnc and cut out as big as I can go and hopefully it will be big enough to not go through the center of the Mrap.

patracy

Administrator
Staff member
Administrator