• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

air shift axle conversion

1973ih

im new to these trucks and i have a 67 kaiser m35 and i was wondering if i could put a switch like on the later models to engage the front axle please help would like to learn more about the truck

thanks cody

M543A2

Steel Soldiers Supporter
The early non-airshift trucks had a linkage from the transmission to the transfer case that shifted the sprag in the tc (transfer case) from forward to reverse. The gear ratio for the front output shaft on their tc is different from the ratio to the rear axles. The sprag is an overrunning clutch that kicks in the front drive when the rear wheels slip a certain percent. There are two sprags, one for forward and one for reverse. The shift rod from the trans tells the tc whether to use the forward or reverse sprag. For that reason, you cannot just change the tc to a locked in or out shift mode like the air shift models. The gear ratios difference would cause a wind-up between the front and rears. The tc in the air shift models have the same gear ratio to all axles. .
I called Memphis Equipment, who made a conversion kit for the older trucks, but they no longer make it. You will be best off leaving it like it is, or buying a tc that is air shift along with the controls if you think you really want to go that way.

Regards Marti

wsucougarx

If you have a Sprag transfer case then you'll need to do two things. Find an Airshift transfer case and an Airshift Transfer Case Kit. The kit has all the necessary parts to equipt the Airshift transfer case change out incl the in cab air switch and air hose fittings. The Airshift transfer case is a direct bolt on.

DUG

Senior Chief/Moderator
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter