• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Alternator part

Pzkw88

If it's this then it is an important part of the alternator. It is a wirewound resistor.

https://www.aspwholesale.com/resistor-dr-p2096.html
Yes it's inside the alternator and that is the part. I bought an alternator off eBay that was said to be an isolated ground. When I hooked it up the battery sparked horribly and almost fried a battery wire. I took it back off and opened it up and noticed this part missing?!!! I have since got a rebuild kit that includes that part and installed it. I'm wondering if that will fix the problem of the battery cable sparking when I hook it up? I'm pretty new at alternators so any insight is appreciated.

TGP (IL)

That part has nothing to do with the isolated ground.
Some Alt. have that resistor some don't.

The isolated ground Alt have plastic washers insolating the voltage regulator, and other
Internal components from the case.
Tom

cucvrus

That is what confused me. I never seen one before on a CUCV. I don't rebuild my own alternators or starters. I have taken them apart already. I tapped into a few to install hour meters. Thank you for the clarity in identifying the part.

scottladdy

Don't have a lot of time but let's get you started. And welcome to the site and the MV hobby.

1. Most alternators are grounded (run the negative side of the DC output) through the frame of the alternator directly into the engine block or chassis of the vehicle.