• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Anyone put an "infotainment" in a HMMWV?

badger_610889

Hi folks,
I'm still really new to humvee world as an owner however I've been thinking about this project for a while: placing a large industrial touch monitor (HMI) above the dog house and connect it to the vitals of the vehicle through an industrial controller (because they already run everything in 24V) and add a couple applications (could be web based for ease of development) on the HMI to integrate surrounding cameras, navigation, etc. in addition to possibly manage coolingand so on though the controller.
Similar to the infotainment in a Tesla.

I own a business that does this in factories and I've been contemplating the idea of doing that for defense, safety and law enforcement vehicles for a while.

I intend to use my M1123 as the lab mule - since it's bare bone and like new.
I have designed an IP68 controller that has a solid CPU, enough digital and analog IOs and also sourced a 20" HMI for a total hardware cost below $2000.

Have some of you guys done anything like this or have requirements and comments about the project? I'm aware of the IP and MIL ratings and specs a final commercial product would need to match however that won't be the point for a first project.

Thanks!

Mullaney

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Supporting Vendor
Hi folks,