• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

best way to apply carc

jay741

hi i have a a cucv truck on the way just waitin on the euc. i was wondering what the best way to apply carc is. i dont think a paint brush is the way to go. Is the sprayer the way to go the truck is all green. where could i get the cheapest sprayer???? also what color is the underneath of the truck oringal paint??? thanks

DonMn

A spray gun is your best bet, you can get by using a cheap spray gun they spray just as well as a qaulity one, the main difference is you can't rebuild a cheap one, or better put it's not worth rebuilding. I've been using a cheap ATD for almost ten years, I even used it on a professional level for about 5 years as my deicated primer gun.

If you go the HVLP(high volume low pressure) route make sure you have an aircompressor that can keep up with it, HVLP's use a lot of air compaired to conventional guns.

Check your local craigslist.org you might find a nice old quality spray gun something like a Binks, Devillbis or Sharpe.

Don

Jones

"Resource" tab at the top of the page then go to the tech bulletins section of the SS library. There are S-W CARC data sheets there and they have all you need to know about applying CARC... even spray gun orifice size and the best reducers to use.

ralbelt

Ditto on the HVLP. CARC lays down very easily, I did part of my M1008 last week end and will do some more this weekend. I removed the rear box, only 8 bolts two wire connections and 4 screws at the fuel fill. That way i could pressure wash the chassis wire wheel it and spray it Black which was original. I also could do the same to the bottom of the box and spray it CARC green.

yeager1