• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Civilian equivalent model/year for M1009?

nf6x

Feral Engineer
Is there an equivalent Chevrolet model and year that can be used to look up M1009 filters in the shelf-hanger books at the local auto parts store, when I don't have a list of part numbers or cross-ref numbers handy? Last time I was a Pep Boys, I tried looking up 1986 (the year of my favorite CUCV) Chevy blazers, but didn't see any 6.2 diesel ones listed for that year.

I'm new to the CUCV world and to Chevy trucks in general, so I don't know what year(s) of Chevy Blazers might have had the same engine and use the same filters.

Recovry4x4

LLM/Member 785
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Base your investigations off an 84. Even the 86 CUCVs had 84 stuff on them. The whole line is based on the model year 1984.

AJMBLAZER

The 6.2L was in the K5 from 1983 to the end of the K5 in 1991.

Large general parts that never changed are pretty much anything 73-91.

Body wise these are 81-91.

Grille and headlights are 83-84 single headlights.

Most of the electrical, drivetrain, and powertrain components are typical of a '83 or '84 K5 Blazer or Jimmy. Some of the military only stuff doesn't cross over though.

AJMBLAZER

Oh yeah, since the engine is a J-code (non-emissions) and the civilian K5's got C-code (emissions) 6.2L's and no half ton got TH400 transmissions the engine and transfer case are more along the lines of a '83-84 K20 or K30 pickup.

nf6x

Feral Engineer
I just looked on NAPA Online and found a diesel blazer. Does this model look right?

1984 >> Chevrolet Truck >> Blazer-K5 1/2 Ton 4WD >> 6.2 L 379 CID V8 Diesel

Also, it has the TH400 transmission, right?

AJMBLAZER