• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Clutch Adjustment

ecostruction

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Gents,

I've searched a bit and printed out the appropriate pages from the TM 9-2320-361-20 for adjusting the clutch. My clutch seems to grab pretty late when letting it out. I guess this means it's "high". It also is hard to get into gear when cold. Well, it's hard shifting from second to third and third to 4th. Once warm though, it shifts much better. This is the first winter with my trucks. Nothing else with the clutch seems to jump out. Once the pedal is released the entire way, it grabs nice and tight. But haven't tried under heavy load yet.

I'm no mechanic, but am handy and do a lot of work myself. I still have questions though on how to adjust the clutch. I'm still a little confused as to the exact procedure. Any and all help is greatly appreciated. I'm wanting to make the resistance further into the travel of the pedal, i think. More where it should be i guess.

Regards and Happy New Year!

Jake

clinto

Moderator, wonderful human being & practicing Deuc
Staff member
Administrator
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Supporting Vendor
The basic idea is to have 1.5" to 2" of free travel on the clutch pedal, when depressing, before it encounters the resistance of the throwout bearing trying to push the fingers of the pressure plate in.