• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Connecting the famous pink wire

Chenobles

Greetings!
My very first post about my very first CUCV. I am a complete novice, so please show some grace.

I have the infamous crank-no-start problem on my 1986 M1028A1 (has a welder, generator and compressor). Purchased it from a government auction and was told it ran when parked.
I have done most of the things recommended in the TM and on this site…new batteries, new fuel filter, new GP relay, tested all glow plugs and GP module, but no luck starting it. Not even a sputter. I unscrewed a couple of fuel injectors and noticed wetness (I assume there is fuel going to injectors).

Now to my main question. I have noticed that the pink and green wire connections to the injection pump are routed differently and look different than anything I have seen on here (see attached photos). I am wondering if this is causing or contributing to the problem I am having. Could someone tell me if these wires are properly connected?

I am also considering draining out all the fuel that came with the vehicle and putting fresh diesel. The vehicle has a large fuel tank that was pretty full when I got it. I would prefer not to have to deal with draining and handling that much diesel, if I can avoid it. Does anyone know of test strips or test kits I can use to determine if the diesel is still good?

Thank you, and forgive my long winded post.

Attachments

WWRD99

Steel Soldiers Supporter