• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Convert CUCV to 12v pro vs. cons?

medrod2006

Hey guys I was wondering if I should keep my CUCV 24v or just convert it to a complete 12v. Its an 84 and I just got it so I am fairly new to the whole vehicle/system also if I do convert it how much work am I looking at?

Last edited:

Warthog

Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Why would you convert it? In stock 24v format it works preaty well. Do you know how to comvert it?

If you do a 12v conversion, please use the Rosscommon Equipment Company method. It is well documented and works. You can also restore it back to 24v easily. We have discussed it many times.

If you do your own, then you will be on your own as far as troubleshooting any future issues.

Weekly I help someone with an electrical issue. With it being stock I can look at the wiring diagrams and 98% of the time tell them what to look at and fix.

A converted system, it is a shot in the dark.

doghead

4 Star General /Moderator
Staff member
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Why?

sandcobra164

About 98% of the truck is 12 Volt already. I do recommend removing the resistor from the firewall behind the air cleaner and supplying the glow plug relay with 12 Volts off the main 12V bus on the driver's side of the firewall. Other than that, I'd leave it alone.

Matt65

Maybe you want to convert it to 12V to be easier, simpler, or common to other civilian vehicles? Maybe because the truck is new (to you), and you have not familiarized yourself with it yet?