• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

CUCV Help

SouthBranch

Hello All,
I am new to Steel Soldiers and CUCVs, but have learned a lot of information from this site over the last year or so. After a lot of trouble from taking the truck to the local shops I started to read here and fix the problems I was having.

So far I have put a new starter (after 4 burn ups), doghead relay, reinstalled missing horn parts in the steering column, and finally installed new glowplugs, injectors, and an injector pump.

That leads me to why I need help. I was loosing power on hills and the truck died. The fuel return line was clogged. It started again, but didn't have any power and heavy white smoke. I checked lift pump, its working fine... I decided to replace the injector pump and injectors. I just finished and got the truck to start. It fills the yard with white smoke and basically dies out. I adjusted the pump timing, but it didn't seem to do much for the problem.

If anyone knows a lot about the injector pumps, I had to swap out one of the nipples on the reman pump as I crossed treaded it. To get it out I had to remove and then return an allen head bolt @ 12 O'clock as you are looking down on the pump. I put it in as it was, but maybe that is where it all went wrong...

Thanks for any assistance. I love the truck, but it has been in a constant state of not working for one reason or another.

Any thoughts on what I should try next. I am running out of ideas.

Thanks!
Mike

GM72K10

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Don't forget to check the exhaust. I had one that I thought needed an injector pump (would only run on idle) and here the only problem was a clogged muffler. Replaced it and what a difference. You never know.

mistaken1