• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

CUCV Questions

The Swamphare

Okay, I'm new to owning one and my wife said "Okay, you can sleep in it if you want." But I'm content to merely drive it. I drove thousands of miles in one in DS; from Khobar to Riyadh to Kuwait City to Basra to KKMC to everywhere in between in my capacity I had courier orders and ran missions on verbal orders. That one had more miles than my 'new' one and was wrecked when I left. Diesel was free!

Here's the thing: I want to snorkel kit it and replace the radio sets/antennae and add some lighting on the interior for maps, etc. Any tips?

SFC Retired after 27 years

Westech

CPL
Welcome to SS. A snorkel you will have to fab.. there are many members who have done so. Search "snorkel" and that should get the ball rolling on that. As for lights, kinda the same way. You can wire in a "stock civy" dome light, or add anything you want.

on a side note, were you NG?

timm831

Is snorkel kit for looks are are you wanting to make it operational? We had the CUCV trucks & blazers in the Corps when I was in but they were considerred non deploayble due to the fact that they could not ford deep water. The power train isn't set up the same as the HMMWV even though the original HMMWV's and the CUCV series both had 6.2L's.

The Swamphare

The snorkel will be functional. I saw the one on you tube that I like, with a cat pre-cleaner on it. As far as the lights for the interior, I'm gonna go with some mini-spots for maps, &c. , preferably something I can red filter. I re-flagged my truck with bumper numbers that reflect a favorite past unit - C 5/327th in Ft Rich, AK 1983-4

Attachments

Wile E. Coyote