• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

CUCV Volt meter hold down placement

Barrman

The volt meter on my M1009 has never pointed at the little tick with both alternators putting out 14.4 volts each. It was always in the green though. Lately, it really doesn't even go into the green with everything working.

I have been collecting parts for Colton's RED M1009 for about 2 years now. Once we finally got his truck working great last week electrically, I swapped in a spare volt meter. Now mine reads at the tick like it is supposed to.

However, mine was wired hold down, nut, wires, washer, nut. The replacement gauge and the one in RED were both wired like this: wires, washer, nut, hold down, nut. The -20 shows a different hold down and only 1 set of nuts. Here is all I can find for directions:
"Remove 2 nuts (5) and washers (4), and retaining bracket (1). Remove voltmeter (6) from instrument cluster plate (2)."

Attached is a picture of both options with my old one still in the gauge cover. I don't really need to know the answer, I am just curious.

Thanks.

Attachments

Keith_J

There are at least two styles of voltmeters. The plastic hold-down appears to be newer. Mine had the older metal style hold-down. It appears in your picture to have been modified for the plastic hold down. The original meter also use a bracket spot welded to the plate, you can see where it was removed (rust spots in your photo).

CycleJay

Hi guys,

My voltmeter never reads at the tick either.
Should the wires be under the hold down, or outside of the hold down like in the
upper half of the photo? which way is correct for an accurate voltmetere reading?

2cents

cpf240

Hi guys,

My voltmeter never reads at the tick either.