• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Cummins cold start question.

TheBuggyman

Used to be that when I turned on the fuel heater the indicator light would go on full bright and the other morning it came on like usual and then dimmed down to almost nothing! What gives? I am getting about 2.7 volts to the heating element when the switch is on and about 10.7 volts to the switch. I do not have a wiring diagram for this truck so I'm reduced to guessing and tracing wires. The truck still starts good though.....
Any suggestions or diagrams out there?

WillWagner

The Person You Were Warned About As A Child
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
OK, i'm stumped! :? I have no experience with them, been in Southern Ca, so we never had to work with them. Tried the oldest manual I have, 1981, nothing in it and also tried on line at Cummins. No info, Sorry :(

Jones

For starters, what truck are you working on? 12v or 24v system?
A place to start is by looking for dirty contacts at the switch and at the heater. Or a wire breaking down inside it's insulation.

TheBuggyman

Jones said:
For starters, what truck are you working on? 12v or 24v system?
A place to start is by looking for dirty contacts at the switch and at the heater. Or a wire breaking down inside it's insulation.
It is a 24 volt system in a M813-A1 (5-ton). Cummins NHC-250 855 cubic inch engine. Already checked the basics (the switch and relay contact resistance <1ohm. I do not know if there are resistors or any other type of controllers used in this model. I really need a diagram or someone that this has happened to tell me what to look for. There is a control box on the firewall that I have no idea what it does!