• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Diesel VS Gas

JeremyB

SO,I bought a M35A2 last week and Now have my sights on another Deuce. The thing is the second one is gas powerd. I am wondering what the good/bad issues that come with the 331? Gremlins,notorious issues,ETC...

I am new to this, So I figured I would ask.

Thank you

m16ty

Steel Soldiers Supporter
DDoyle and a few others are big fans of the gassers. I've never been around a gasser myself but in most things that can be had either way I always opt for the diesel. Usually more power, better fuel mileage, and tend to last longer.

Stretch44875

Super Jr. Moderator
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Gasser is quieter, smoother, shifting pattern/ratio is better, about the same power as a stock multi.

Multi gets better MPG, can run on other fuels, can be turned up for more power.

As far as longevity, the gasser is considered a medium duty truck engine, and can be rebuilt in-frame like a large diesel.

M543A2

Steel Soldiers Supporter
The gasser is a 331 cubic inch engine, the diesels are 478 cubes. Nuff said in the power department??!! I find the gassers to be in no way comparable to what a multifuel turned up will do. It depends on what you want the truck to do. If you want it because it is representative of the earlier models of these trucks and do not intend to work it hard, then go for it. I am all for preserving the earlier brothers to the diesel trucks.
Regards Marti

JeremyB