• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

EGT performance

USN_Green_Addict

Steel Soldiers Supporter
EGT and Boost. Did my first run with a new to me D turbo, EGT and Boost gauge. The highest EGT was 1100ish before I backing off the throttle, highest RPM was 2450 ish, Max MPH 52, tire size 11.00-20 ,max boost seen was about 14 lbs, max load was approximately 1700lbs of cement/rubbish. Even on slight hills in 4th and 5th EGTs were near 1100, while at idle they are about 400. I do have a larger exhaust and am using the Jatonka filters, I believe the fuel was turned up by the prior owner. Also approximate altitude is between 5000-6000 ft above sea level.

I'm very new to diesel EGTs so what are y'alls thoughts on performance or if there is something wrong.

Sent from my LG-H918 using Tapatalk

Elijah95

Certified Rookie
Considering you were hauling a small load, on bigger tires that adds an albeit minor load itself, and the truck still was able to maintain under 1200 you’re golden. Drive by your EGTs, you’ll quickly learn how to economize and achieve better fuel economy and just how hard you can run before getting too hot. Thankfully it’s not a magic hit 1200 or 1xxx number and poof piston melts, it’s all about how long you hold it there, ambient temperatures, air density, air filter cleanliness, etc contributing to heat soak into the piston which eventually becomes too immense.

My first truck could hit 1600 under heavy throttle almost instantly, it was also turned up to the moon... Knowing that I drove it appropriately and kept it alive

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

M37M35

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Sounds about right to me.