• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Engine for M35

Robahr24

Im new to any of these miltary vehicles but thinking about getting one. M35 are pretty cheap but I was thinking of a 6-71 instead of the ld-465. Whats the difference between the 71's and 92's and which one would probably be better in on? Also, what would be a good tranny and transfer case to put in it while im at it. I know this is big bucks but these things are worth it.

Too bad the 12v-71 are to heavy and large for these, I worked on one before and after starting it, it was the most bad ass engine I ever heard.

gringeltaube

Staff Member
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Robahr24 said:
.... Whats the difference between the 71's and 92's and which one would probably be better in on?.....
Just 21 c.i. and prob.42 lbs more weight per cyl....!? :)
Nice powerplants but neither one fits in a Deuce without serious work and mods. To long, to heavy to low rpm, to much torque for the stock drivetrain, etc.
If you like power and sound of a two-stroker 6, have you considered the 6V53?

And... WELCOME to green iron world!!!

G.

Robahr24

RE: Re: Engine for M35

I didn't know much about the 53 series. Are they just as reliable as the 71's and 92's? What about power?

Robahr24

I just want something different, maybe thinking of a cat. Kinda wants lots of power but don't want things to get too expensive. I could just put a 5.9 cummins and do minimal work and get 400-500 hp but thats not really original.

Robahr24

Yeah your right about the cat, plus the sound of a 2 stroke would just be awesome. Anybody know how much power you can get out of them before they get unrealiable?

Robahr24