• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Extra Oil and Larger Filter for the 6.2

Jozseph

FWIW....... Today I changed the oil in my M1031 for the first time, I purchase the truck on 09/16/2014. I decided to use the NAPA 1794* filter, this filter holds an additional 2 quarts of oil.

*Wix 51794 is the same filter, they are manufactured by Wix for NAPA

In my opinion the additional oil and filtering capacity can benefit the motor.

Regards

Joseph

llong66

I have been doing that for mine for over two years now, use two gallons at each change, no problems so far!

Last edited:

Drock

The only thing I'd be worried about would be a possible drop in oil pressure do to the added volume the pump has the move before the oil gets to the engine. Do you have an oil pressure gauge in this truck? I've bin doing something similar to my old dodge work van. I ran ah ford M08A in place of the dodge PH16 for 200000 miles. And it's worked great, but It only added ah half quart.

royalflush55

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Big block engines in Chevy and GMC medium duty trucks came out factory with this filter a long time ago. I have never seen any problem with the spin on adapter. This long filter actually adds 1 quart capacity above a standard filter. The increased filtration media is as big a plus as the increased oil capacity.

goldneagle

The only thing I'd be worried about would be a possible drop in oil pressure do to the added volume the pump has the move before the oil gets to the engine. Do you have an oil pressure gauge in this truck? I've bin doing something similar to my old dodge work van. I ran ah ford M08A in place of the dodge PH16 for 200000 miles. And it's worked great, but It only added ah half quart.