• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Fuel injector help

Ang2gna

So I had a knock that went away when I cracked the fuel line to one of my injectors (2nd from the front on the passenger side). I ordered a new injector from Kascar and installed it today. The knock is still there but goes away when I crack the fuel to it. I am a novice but I thought a sign of a bad injector was when you cracked the line going to it the engine slows down and the knocking stops. Just like what happened when I did it. This injector is the only one that stops the knock when I crack the fuel line going to them. Am I missing something? The engine I have is the 6.5 na and the new injector I ordered had a purple band on it. Thanks for all of your help.
John

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Action

swap that injector with another one. start it and crack the same line. if that stops the knock, the problem is not the injector.

Jason

Ang2gna

I will try that tomorrow Action. What could be the problem if it's not the injector then? Could the line be bad that connects to it? I really hope it is not a rod.

doghead

4 Star General /Moderator
Staff member
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
When you crack a line you stop that cylinder from firing.

Ang2gna

Thanks doghead. That makes sense now. So it could be anything it that cylinder then. If I find it is not the injector tomorrow is there something I can do to find out what is making the sound? It sounds just like in the video that springbok posted in his thread.

Barrman

If the knock is still there then pulling the valve cover to make sure the valve springs are actually still there and the rockers are still attached. After that you are looking at the bottom end.

MarkM