• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

General Hmmwv 4BT / 4L80 Questions

Dr.Hmmwv

I just wanted to make sure that understanding this right before I start purchasing all the parts I need. I have tried reading several forums and post and just wanted to be completely sure since I'm a 3rd year medical student and on a thin budget at the moment. Also, my friend that has the diesel background, and has been working on this swap, did inform me up front that he does not have much knowledge when it comes to electronics and wanted me to look into the electronic side of things.

Own: 1987 6.2L Hmmwv

In process of installing: 4BT(p-pump) , 4l80e, NP242

Now for the electronics side:

I was going to purchase the US Shift Quick 4 for the 4L80 to try and keep this as simple as possible

Since the vehicle is 24v was looking at purchasing a Sure Power 21100E00 Battery Equalizer (100amps) and could use this to run 12v items and 24v items

Thus, I believe I would need a 24v alternator for this setup and was planning to purchase a DELCO REMY 28SI 24V 110 AMP ALTERNATOR (J180 mount) which I believe should fit the 4BT

Also, the adapter for the 4l80 to 4BT uses a Ford 6.4 starter so was going to purchase a 12v Starter which from what I have read should work fine with this setup, just see mention to make sure 12v goes to solenoid. (Also only see one Ford 6.4 Starter that is 24v and it cost double any regular 12v version so hoping the 12v is fine in this setup)

Just wanted to double check that this looks alright and that not messing anything up or buying wrong parts. Also, if there are simpler solutions or any further recommendations would be interested to hear them.

Thank You

TOBASH

Father, Surgeon, Cantankerous Grouch
Steel Soldiers Supporter