• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Glow plug question

ElvisArronPresley

Newbie here, and before I ask I would like to apologize if I am asking a question that has been answered 100 times before. I have searched forums for a couple hours and can't find the answer so here goes. I understand the resistor bank bypass to avoid the snowball effect on the 12v glow plugs , but I hate cutting up anything that came stock on the 86 m1009 blazer. I'm just wondering what the problem would be with running 24v glow plugs ? I'm sure there's a reason it can't be done, I am ignorant to it however. Thanks for any help / response in advance , and am sorry if it's a stupid question.

Thanks!

Warthog

Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
You could run 24v if you wanted to. You would still have to remove the resistor pack and the controller card would not function properly as it is designed to read 12v (might even burn it up, never tried it ;-) )

There is no need to cut anything if you do not want to. Just make a new power wire.

cucvrus